Management & Boards

Board of Directors

Picture of the Institute's Board of Directors
Egbert Tannich, Birgit Müller, Jürgen May, Stephan Günther

Prof. Dr. med. Egbert Tannich

Prof. Dr. med. Jürgen May
Deputy Chair

Prof. Dr. med. Stephan Günther

Birgit Mueller
Managing Director

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Emil Christian Reisinger, Chair (Rostock University Medicine)

Prof. Dr. Barbara Bröker (Greifswald University Medicine)

Prof. Dr. Heinz Feldmann (National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), Hamilton, USA)

Prof. Dr. Gérard Krause (Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Brunswick)

Prof. Dr. Boris Striepen (University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA)

Prof. Dr. Jürg Utzinger (Swiss Tropical Institute, Basel, Switzerland)

Prof. Dr. Julia Walochnik (Vienna University Medicine, Austria)

Picture with 6 of 7 members of the Scientific Advisory Board
Scientific Advisory Board in 2017 (left to right): Prof. Dr. Emil Christian Reisinger, Prof. Dr. Barbara Bröker, Prof. Dr. Heinz Feldmann, Prof. Dr. Gundel Harms-Zwingenberger (since 2019 replaced by Prof. Julia Walochnik), Prof. Dr. Boris Striepen, Prof. Dr. Jürg Utzinger; Missing on the photo: Prof. Dr. Gérard Krause and Prof. Dr. Julia Walochnik. Credit: BNITM / K. Juerries.

Board of Trustees

State Secretary Dr. Eva Gümbel, Chair (State Ministry of Science and Research, Hamburg)

Dr. Antina Ziegelmann, Deputy Chair (Federal Ministry of Health, Berlin)

Dr. Kathrin Adlkofer (External Member)

Prof. Dr. Martin Aepfelbacher (Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE), Hamburg)

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Hannelore Lotter (Staff Representative, BNITM)

Jana Holland (State Ministry of Health)

Dr. Matthias Gruhl (State Ministry of Social Affairs, Family Affairs, Health and Consumer Protection, Hamburg)

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Thomas Jacobs (Staff Representative, BNITM)

Dr. Joachim Klein (Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Berlin)

Nathalie Leroy (External Member)

Prof. Dr. Emil Christian Reisinger (Chair of BNITM Scientific Advisory Board)

Grouppicture of the Board of Trustees
Board of Trustees of BNITM in 2017 (left to right): Prof. Iris Bruchhaus (since 2018 replaced by PD Dr. Hannelore Lotter), Dr. Matthias Gruhl, PD Dr. Joachim Klein, Dr. Eva Gümbel, Nathalie Leroy, Jana Holland, PD Dr. Thomas Jacobs and Prof. Martin Aepfelbacher. Missing on the photo: Dr. Kathrin Adlkofer, Dr. Hannelore Lotter, Prof. Emil Reisinger and Dr. Antina Ziegelmann.


Britta Rehn

Board Secretariat

Tel.: +49 40 42818-260
Fax: +49 40 42818-265
Email: rehn(at)

Organization Chart