Overview - Teams world wide

The department of infectious disease epidemiology consists of an assembly of international teams spread throughout the world.

Team Hamburg is part of the Bernhard Nocht Insitute for Tropical Medicine and also the headquarters of the department. Its focus is Research & Development as well as International Teaching & Capacity Building.

Team Kumasi is based at the Kumasi Centre for Collaborative Research (KCCR), Ghana, as well as at the Agogo Presbyterian Hospital and other hospitals, where most of our clinical studies are conducted.

Team Arusha is located in Arusha, Tanzania, and is mainly working within the East African Community (EAC) to establish a sustainable laboratory infrastructure and response network across East Africa.

Team Tanga is based at the National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR) in Tanga, as well as at the Magunga District Hospital in Korogwe, Tanzania.

Team Antananarivo is based at the University of Antananarivo at the Laboratoire de Microbiologie et de Parasitologie Université Antananarive (LMPUA) in Madagascar and is contributing to our research projects as well.

Zu sehen sind die internationalen Standorte der Abteilung Infektionsepidemiologie in Deutschland, Ghana, Tansania, Madagaskar, Laos und Vietnam

Head of Department

Jürgen May (-402)

Office Assistant

Ulrike Kolander (-402)

Scientific Project Management

Juliane Bönecke (-268)
Johanna Brinkel (-268)
Theresa Habermann
Maike Lamshöft (-268)

Scientific Staff

Daniela Fusco (-504)
Nicole Sunaina Gilberger (-639)
Irina Kislaya PhD
Robin Kobbe
Ralf Krumkamp (-535)
Eva Lorenz (-639)
Dr. med. Valentina Marchese
Eva Mertens (-243)
Andrea Molina (-268)
Viola Pavoncello PhD
Dewi Ismajani Puradiredja (-243)
Kathrin Schuldt (-405)
Ricardo Strauss (-243)
Thorsten Thye (-403)

Team Arusha, Tanzania

Florian Gehre
Muna Affara
Neema Omari
Grace A. Oshido
Julien A. Nguinkal

Team KCCR, Ghana

Oumou Maiga Ascofaré

Data Management

Anna Jaeger (-503)
Jenny Kettenbeil (-268)
Wibke Loag (-503)
Berchie Agyemang Nti (-503)
Angelika Hensel (-503)

Technical Staff

Doris Winter (-244)
Kerstin Shand (-244)

Scientific staff (In house PhD students)

Lena Merkel
Lydia Rautmann
Solomon Wafula
Rehema Moirongo
Jana Hey
Pia Rausche

Group of researchers standing in front of a building

Department of Infectious Disease Epidemiology

Zu sehen ist ein freundlicher, selbstbewusster und erfahrener Forscher aus dem europäischen Raum.
Head of Dept Infectious Diseases Epidemiology

Prof. Dr. Jürgen May

Telefon: +49 40 285380-402

E-Mail: may@bnitm.de

  • Logo DZIF